Our Top Picks
Amazon Basics 12-Outlet Surge Protector Power StripSmall13.39 x 6.3 x 1.57 inches1.76 poundsCheck on Amazon
For most gaming desks, the best value among these ten listings is the Amazon Basics 12-outlet model or the LeZone 4800J strip: both state high joule ratings, a 12-outlet layout and long cords in the title, and both fall in the lower price tiers. The Belkin is the pick if you want the most recognizable safety wording (UL-listed, 3,780 joules), and the Anker Nano is the pick when your desk has no spare floor space. Remember that a surge protector is only worth buying if it states a joule rating and a safety listing.
Top picks at a glance
4000J Gaming Surge Protector Power Strip with USB Ports | RGB Lighting, PD 20W Fast Charging, 6 Wide-Spaced Outlets, Designed for Gaming PC, Desk Setup, Home and Office
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
Anker Power Strip with 2100J Surge Protector, Outlet Extender, 20W, 12 AC | 5ft Extension Cord with Multiple Outlets, 1 USB C, 2 USB A, Home Office, Dorm Room Essentials, TUV Listed
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
Belkin 12-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip w/ 12 AC Outlets & 8ft Flat Plug, UL-Listed Heavy-Duty Extension Cord for Home, Office, Travel, Computer, Laptop, Charger - 3,780 Joules of Protection
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
ALESTOR 6 Ft Surge Protector Power Strip with 12 Outlets and 4 USB Ports | 2700 Joules, 6 Feet Heavy Duty Extension Cord with Multiple Outlets for Home, Office, Dorm Room, ETL Listed, Black
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
Amazon Basics 12-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip, 4000 Joules, 8ft Extension Cord, Rectangle, for Home, Office, Gaming Room, Black
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
SUPERDANNY Power Strip Surge Protector, 22 AC 6 USB, 2100J, 6.5Ft,1875W/15A | 5A1C, Heavy Duty Extension Cord with Multiple Outlets, Flat Plug Outlet Extender for Home, Office, Dorm, Gaming Room, Black
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
Surge Protector Power Strip 4800J, LeZone 10Ft Long Extension Cord Flat Plug, 12 Outlets 2 USB C 2 USB Ports, Wall Mountable, Desk Charging Station, Black
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
Anker Nano Power Strip, Desk Clamp, 70W Max, 1500J Surge Protector, 2 USB C | 6AC 5ft Extension Cord, Outlet Extender Desk Organizer Gaming Accessories Home Office Essentials, Fit 0.6~1.8'' Tabletop Edge
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
6 FT Flat Plug Surge Protector Power Strip,11 AC Outlets with 6 USB Ports | JouleLoom 6 Feet Extension Cord with 11 Multiple Outlets &6 USB Ports (2 USB C),1250W/10A,One Touch Switch Button power strip
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
Surge Protector Power Strip 10ft Cord/High Joules Surge Protection (4800J) /Heavy Duty/Multiple outlets/Mountable/ 18AC/15A/USB A+C(PD20W),Flat Plug, Commercial,Industrial,Office,Home,Black
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
| Model | Key point from the title | Price tier | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Green Box Innovations 4000J | 4000J, 6 wide-spaced outlets, USB, RGB | Mid | Bulky power bricks |
| Anker 12-outlet | 2100J, 12 AC, USB-C plus USB-A, 5ft cord | Mid | Dorms and small desks |
| Belkin 12-outlet | 3,780J, 8ft flat plug, UL-listed | Mid | Safety-listing priority |
| ALESTOR 12-outlet | 2700J, 6ft cord, 4 USB, ETL listed | Budget | Budget setups |
| Amazon Basics 12-outlet | 4000J, 8ft cord | Budget | High joules on a budget |
| SUPERDANNY 22-outlet | 22 AC, 6 USB, 2100J, 1875W/15A | Mid | Large multi-device desks |
| LeZone 4800J | 4800J, 10ft flat plug, wall mountable | Budget to Mid | Long reach to the wall |
| Anker Nano (desk clamp) | 1500J, 6 AC, 2 USB-C, clamps to desk | Premium | Cable-free tabletops |
| JouleLoom 11-outlet | 11 AC, 6 USB, 1250W/10A, no joule number in title | Budget | Light loads only |
| NANOLAKE 18-outlet | 4800J, 10ft, 18 AC, 15A, mountable | Mid | Workshop-sized setups |
What is changing in this category
Power strips have absorbed charging jobs. Most listings here include USB-C ports, some advertise 20W fast charging, and several are built around a flat plug so the cord can sit behind a desk. The joule number has also crept up, with 4000J and 4800J becoming common marketing figures even on inexpensive models.
Bigger numbers are not the same as better protection. Joules describe how much energy a strip can soak up over its life, while clamping voltage and the safety standard describe how well it behaves in each event. Because of that, the listing words “UL-listed” or “ETL listed” carry real weight, and a title that offers neither deserves a closer look.
How these were picked
This guide uses published listing titles, manufacturer documentation and buyer reviews. Every spec named comes from the title and is the seller’s claim. Nobody on the team used or measured these units. If a title leaves out something important, such as a joule rating, a clamping voltage or a safety listing, we say to check the listing instead of filling the gap.
The ten listings, one by one
Green Box Innovations 4000J Gaming Surge Protector: wide spacing for big adapters
The title advertises 4000 joules, six wide-spaced outlets, USB ports, RGB lighting and 20W PD fast charging, and describes it as designed for a gaming PC and desk setup. The wide spacing is the practical feature: chunky monitor and router adapters often block neighboring sockets on cramped strips. Six outlets is not many for a full gaming desk, so count your plugs first. The RGB lighting is cosmetic, and the title does not name a safety listing or cord length. Gaming-themed strips like this often put the outlets on one face with the cord at one end, so picture where your tower, monitor and console plugs will land before you commit. Lighting that stays on all night can also be a nuisance in a bedroom setup, so look for whether it can be switched off.
Pros
- High joule figure and wide-spaced outlets
- Fast-charging USB-C stated
Cons
- Only six AC outlets
- Safety listing and cord length not in the title
Ask before buying: is the unit UL or ETL listed, and how long is the cord?
Anker 12-outlet with 2100J: compact and TUV listed
This Anker strip offers 12 AC outlets, one USB-C and two USB-A ports, a 5ft cord, 2100 joules and a TUV listing. It is shaped for dorm rooms and home offices. The joule number is the lower end of this roundup, and the title mentions TUV rather than UL, so check what standard that listing covers if a US safety mark is a priority. The 5ft cord is the shortest of the 12-outlet group, which can leave you hunting for a wall outlet. On the plus side, the mixed USB-C and USB-A ports let you charge a phone and a controller without extra bricks, and the 20W figure in the title is aimed at phone-class charging rather than laptops. For a modest desk with one PC and a couple of screens it is a tidy fit; for a full battlestation, the outlet count is enough but the joule number is not the strongest.
Pros
- Twelve outlets and mixed USB ports
- Recognized brand
Cons
- 2100J is on the lower side
- Short cord
Ask before buying: which safety standard does the TUV listing refer to?
Belkin 12-outlet with 3,780J: the clearest safety wording
Belkin’s title offers 12 AC outlets, an 8ft flat plug cord, UL listing and 3,780 joules. The title mentions no USB ports, which keeps it focused on protecting PCs, monitors and consoles. For many buyers the combination of a long flat cord and plain safety labeling is the point. The flat plug keeps the cord close to the wall behind a desk, but make sure it fits behind your furniture. Without USB, you will need a separate charger for phones and controllers. Buyers who want a set-and-forget unit often choose this style, since a UL listing is a widely understood label in the US. The twelve outlets are enough for a tower, a pair of monitors, speakers, a console and a router, with a few spares for chargers.
Pros
- UL-listed and 3,780J
- 8ft cord
Cons
- No USB ports
- Mid price tier
Ask before buying: does the page list a clamping voltage and an indicator light?
ALESTOR 12-outlet with 2700J: budget with USB
The title lists 12 outlets, 4 USB ports, 2700 joules, a 6ft heavy-duty cord and an ETL listing. It sits in the lower price tier yet states a mid-range joule number and a safety mark. That makes it a reasonable pick for a first desk setup. It is a lesser-known brand, so buyer reviews are the main way to judge long-term build quality. The USB ports share an unstated total output, so avoid assuming they all charge at full speed together. The 6ft cord is the standard length for this class, enough for a desk against a wall but not a room corner. If the strip will sit on the floor behind a tower, the heavy-duty wording in the title is reassuring but still a seller claim.
Pros
- Low price with listing and joules stated
- USB ports included
Cons
- Less established brand
- USB output details not stated
Ask before buying: how many amps do the USB ports share?
Amazon Basics 12-outlet with 4000J: high joules, low frills
This rectangular strip offers 12 outlets, 4000 joules and an 8ft cord, marketed for home, office and gaming room. It has no USB ports in the title and no stated safety listing, so confirm both. It is among the lower-priced listings, and 4000J at that price makes it attractive. The rectangular body keeps it simple to mount or hide, and the cord is long enough for most desks. The house brand tends to be judged on consistency, so buyer reviews and the listing details on certifications matter more than the name. It is the sort of strip you buy when you want a high joule number at a low tier and do not need chargers built in.
Pros
- 4000J and 8ft cord at a budget tier
- Plain, simple design
Cons
- No USB ports in the title
- Safety listing not named
Ask before buying: is it UL 1449 listed?
SUPERDANNY 22-outlet: many devices, modest joules
The title states 22 AC outlets, 6 USB ports, 2100J, a 6.5ft flat-plug cord and 1875W/15A. This is the choice for a desk with a PC, monitors, a console, a streaming setup and lots of chargers. Remember that 22 sockets share one 15A cord, so the total of everything plugged in still has to stay under the rating. The joule number is not high for this many devices, and the title does not name a safety listing. A flat plug helps keep the cord tight against the wall. Because it provides 1875W across so many sockets, it is easy to plug in far more than you need, so use the worked example below to keep your total sensible. It suits creators with lights, audio gear and capture devices as much as gamers.
Pros
- Huge outlet count and 15A rating
- USB ports included
Cons
- 2100J spread over many devices
- Safety listing not stated
Ask before buying: are the USB ports numbered by amperage?
LeZone 4800J: long cord and wall mounting
This listing gives 4800 joules, a 10ft flat-plug cord, 12 outlets, 2 USB-C and 2 USB ports, wall-mountable design and desk charging station use. The cord length is the headline: it helps when the wall outlet is far from the PC. The brand is lesser known, and the title does not mention a listing mark, so check the page. The ports are a nice bonus for controllers and phones. Wall mounting is handy if you would rather keep the strip off the floor and away from dust or pets. With four USB-style ports including two USB-C, it can double as a small charging station, but check the shared output before expecting every device to fast-charge at once.
Pros
- 4800J and 10ft cord
- Wall mountable
Cons
- Safety listing not in the title
- Smaller brand
Ask before buying: does it list UL or ETL certification?
Anker Nano Power Strip: desk clamp convenience
The title cites a desk clamp, 70W max, 1500J, 2 USB-C ports, 6 AC outlets, a 5ft cord and a clamp range of 0.6 to 1.8 inches. It is a desk organizer first, and a surge protector second. The price is the highest per outlet here, and 1500J is the lowest joule number in the roundup. Choose it for a clean tabletop, not for maximum protection. The clamp range in the title (0.6 to 1.8 inches) tells you which desk edges it fits, so measure your tabletop before ordering. Putting power right where you sit is a real quality-of-life gain for laptops, headsets and controllers, but a tower with several monitors will likely want a bigger, higher-joule strip on the floor as well.
Pros
- Clamps on the desk edge
- USB-C ports at the point of use
Cons
- Lowest joules and highest price tier
- Only six AC outlets
Ask before buying: is the 70W figure a total across ports?
JouleLoom 11-outlet: no joule number in the title
The title lists a 6ft flat plug, 11 AC outlets, 6 USB ports including two USB-C, 1250W/10A and a one-touch switch. Despite the brand name, it does not state a joule rating, and the 10A limit is lower than the 15A strips. That matters if you run a power-hungry gaming tower plus accessories. Treat it as a power strip until the page confirms surge protection. Its USB ports and one-touch switch are handy for a small desk, and the price is low, but a surge protector without a stated rating is hard to compare. If you only need to charge devices and extend reach, it may be fine; for a PC worth thousands, look for a model that states joules and a listing.
Pros
- Low price tier
- Switch, and many ports
Cons
- No joule rating in the title
- 10A rating limits total load
Ask before buying: what are the joules and the safety listing?
NANOLAKE 18-outlet 4800J: workshop-sized
The title states a 10ft cord, 4800 joules, 18 AC outlets, 15A, USB-A and USB-C with PD 20W, flat plug, mountable design and wording for commercial, industrial, office and home use. It suits a big workstation or a shared room. The outlet count is high, so cable management matters. The title does not name a safety listing. The industrial wording is marketing language, so a home buyer should still verify the listing marks. Used on a desk, the long cord and mountable body make it easy to tuck against a wall, and the USB-C port with PD 20W covers a phone.
Pros
- 4800J, 10ft cord, 15A
- Mountable with many outlets
Cons
- Safety listing not in the title
- Bulky
Ask before buying: what clamping voltage does the page list?
How to choose: specification concepts
| Spec concept | What to look for | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Joule rating | At least 2,000 for a desk of electronics; a stated number | Energy absorbed over the unit’s life |
| Safety listing | UL 1449 or equivalent lab listing | Confirms an independent standard applies |
| Clamping voltage | Lower is better; 400V or less is commonly cited | Voltage let through during an event |
| Amp and watt rating | 15A / 1875W for heavy loads | Prevents overloading the strip |
| Cord and plug | 8ft to 10ft, flat plug | Reach and clearance behind furniture |
| Indicator light | Protected or grounded lamp | Shows whether protection is still active |
Which one for which user
| If you have… | Consider | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| A tower, two monitors and a console | Belkin, Amazon Basics, LeZone | Enough outlets, cord and joules |
| A big desk with many chargers | SUPERDANNY or NANOLAKE | Outlet count and 15A rating |
| A clean-desk aesthetic | Anker Nano | Clamp mount, USB-C |
| A tight budget | ALESTOR or Amazon Basics | Low tier with stated joules |
| Big power-brick adapters | Green Box wide-spacing model | Outlets do not block each other |
What to check before you buy
Read the safety line first
Search the listing for UL 1449, ETL or an equivalent mark. A title that states joules but no listing leaves the claim unverified. Prefer a protection indicator light that tells you when the surge components have worn out, because a strip can keep supplying power long after it stops protecting.
Match outlets to real plugs
List every cable at your desk: tower, monitors, speakers, console, router, chargers. Add a couple of spares. Check whether adapters are wide enough for the spacing, since bulky bricks can block neighbors. Wide-spaced layouts and rotated sockets matter more than the raw outlet count.
Plan cord length and mounting
Measure from the wall outlet to where the strip will sit. Flat plugs let furniture sit close to the wall, and mounting holes keep strips off the floor. Do not run the cord under rugs or through tight bends, and follow the manufacturer’s instructions and local codes for installation.
Placement checklist
- Plug the strip directly into a wall outlet, never into another strip
- Keep it clear of fabric, water and heat sources
- Check the indicator light when you start the PC
- Note the purchase date and plan a replacement window
Worked example: sizing a strip for one gaming desk
Assume a mid-range gaming tower drawing about 600W under load, two monitors at roughly 40W each, speakers at 30W, a router and modem at 30W together and a phone charger at 20W. These are illustrative assumptions; use your own power supply label and the monitor specs.
| Device | Assumed draw |
|---|---|
| Gaming tower | 600W |
| Two monitors | 80W |
| Speakers | 30W |
| Router and modem | 30W |
| Chargers | 20W |
| Total | about 760W |
A 1875W strip handles that with a large margin. A 1250W strip is at roughly 61 percent, which is workable but narrower, and it leaves little headroom if you add a heater or a second PC. A common rule of thumb is to keep continuous loads below about 80 percent of a circuit’s rating; follow the manufacturer’s instructions and local electrical codes. Do not plug one strip into another, and keep space heaters and similar high-draw devices off any strip.
Surge protector or UPS?
A surge protector handles voltage spikes. It does nothing during an outage, and a sudden power cut can still interrupt a save, corrupt a game file or crash an update. A battery backup, usually called a UPS, adds minutes of runtime so you can shut down cleanly, and many models include surge protection. The trade-offs are cost, size and battery replacement every few years. A high-end gaming tower can draw several hundred watts, so a UPS must be sized for the load, and the runtime on a heavy system is short. For homes with stable power, a quality surge protector is a sound baseline; for areas with frequent outages or storms, consider a UPS and read its rated watts, not just its VA number.
Mistakes buyers make, and fixes
| Mistake | Fix |
|---|---|
| Buying a power strip that is not a surge protector | Look for a joule rating and a listing mark in the description |
| Chasing the biggest joule number only | Compare clamping voltage and safety listing too |
| Ignoring the amp rating | Add up your devices before choosing a 10A model |
| Keeping a strip for a decade | Replace it every few years and after major surges |
| Daisy-chaining strips | Use one strip plugged straight into the wall |
Verdict by use case
For a budget desk, the Amazon Basics and LeZone strips offer high joule figures and long cords. For safety wording, Belkin is the clearest. For big desks, SUPERDANNY or NANOLAKE give the most outlets. If a desk clamp matters to you, Anker Nano is the exception to the joules-first rule. Surges are also one factor in how long a gaming PC lasts before you need to upgrade, and if you are still choosing the machine itself, our list of the best prebuilt gaming PCs under 2000 is a good place to start.
Frequently asked questions
How many joules does a gaming PC surge protector need?
There is no single official number, but guides often suggest at least 1,000 joules for basic protection and 2,000 or more for expensive electronics. Also check the UL 1449 listing and clamping voltage rather than relying on joules alone.
Is a surge protector the same as a power strip?
No. A plain power strip only adds outlets, while a surge protector diverts voltage spikes and should state a joule rating and a safety listing. If the description has neither, treat it as a power strip.
Can a surge protector power a high-end gaming PC on its own?
Yes, if the total load stays inside its rating. A 15A strip is generally around 1,875 watts, and a 10A model around 1,250 watts. Add up your PC, monitors and accessories first.
When should I replace a surge protector?
Many guides suggest every three to five years, and right away after a major surge or visible damage. If the protection indicator light goes out, replace the unit.
Is a UPS better than a surge protector for gaming?
They solve different problems. A UPS also covers outages and gives you time to save and shut down. A good surge protector is a sensible baseline where power is stable.
Do USB ports on a surge protector charge as fast as a wall charger?
Not always. Ports often share a total output, so check the listed wattage per port and in total before relying on them for fast charging.