Updated Oct 28, 2026· 10 min read

Key takeaways

  • Docking stations earn their place on a desk the moment you want one cable to connect a laptop to two monitors, a wired network, a keyboard, and a charger.

Docking stations earn their place on a desk the moment you want one cable to connect a laptop to two monitors, a wired network, a keyboard, and a charger. The keyword implies someone who already knows a bare USB-C hub is not enough: you need display outputs that can run more than one external monitor, power delivery that keeps the laptop charged, and enough ports that you stop reaching behind the machine. The catch is that dock specs are easy to misread, and a dock that looks right can underperform if your laptop’s USB-C port does not support video output.

The eight listings below range from compact multi-display docks to a business-class universal dock from a laptop maker. Verdicts are drawn only from what each title states, such as the display count, power delivery wattage, and data speeds. As of 2026, the practical question is less “how many ports” and more “how many monitors can this drive at what resolution, and will my laptop actually support that.”

Quick Picks

Our top picks

Also greatDell Pro Laptop Docking Station WD25, USB-C, 100W, DisplayPort, HDMI | Universal Dock, Ethernet, USB-A Ports, USB-C Ports, Power Delivery Charging, Quad Display, Plug and Play, Office Ready, WD25Dell Pro Laptop Docking Station WD25
  • Powerful compatibility: Power essential productivity across the AI…
  • Modern manageability: The Dell Pro Dock is part…
  • Thoughtful design: Configure your workspace with an ambidextrous…
Check price on Amazon
Also greatAnker Nano Laptop Docking Station, 13in1 Dock with Detachable 6in1 USBC Hub | 3 Display USB C Dock (2 HDMI+1 DP), 10 Gbps USBC, 3 USBA, Audio, SD/TF, Ethernet, 100W Max PD for Dell/Lenovo/HP Home OfficeAnker Nano Laptop Docking Station
  • Detachable 2-in-1 Design for Desk & Travel
  • Triple Display with Flexible Monitor Setup
  • All the Ports You Need in One Dock
Check price on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.

Product Best for Key spec from the title
Anker 8-in-1 Dual Monitor Dock Simple two-monitor desk Dual HDMI, 4K, 1Gbps Ethernet, 85W PD
Dell Pro Dock WD25 Business and Dell fleets USB-C, 100W, DisplayPort, HDMI, Ethernet
Anker Nano 13-in-1 Three displays and portability 2 HDMI + 1 DP, detachable 6-in-1 hub
Anker Prime 14-in-1 High-power charging Dual 4K HDMI, 160W max output, 10Gbps
Anker 13-in-1 Triple Display Fast data and three screens 2 HDMI + 1 DP, 10Gbps USB-C, Ethernet
Acer 13-in-1 Docking Station Three displays with 100W charging 3 displays, 100W, 1Gbps LAN
MOKiN 14-in-1 Most video outputs 2 HDMI + 2 DP, triple 4K, 87W PD
Acer 9-in-1 USB-C Dock Compact dual-monitor setup 2 HDMI, 4K@60Hz, 100W PD

How to Choose

Count displays and check your laptop’s limits

The number of monitors a dock lists is a ceiling, not a promise. Your laptop’s USB-C port must support video output, usually through DisplayPort Alt Mode or Thunderbolt, and the processor or graphics chip must support the number of displays. Acer’s 13-in-1 listing states it requires a full-featured USB-C port, which is a useful reminder. Check your laptop’s documentation for supported external monitors before you pay for a triple-display dock.

Match power delivery to the laptop’s charger

Listings show 85W, 87W, 100W, and up to 160W. Match or exceed the wattage of your original charger. A 65W ultrabook is fine on any of these, while a gaming or workstation laptop that draws more will run slowly or drain on a dock that cannot supply enough. Remember the dock itself uses some power, so the figure available to the laptop is lower than the headline number on cheaper models.

Look at data speeds and ports

Ten gigabits per second on a USB-C port is useful for fast external drives, while 5Gbps on USB-A is fine for keyboards, mice, and webcams. Gigabit Ethernet is standard on these listings and is plenty for most offices. If you use a card reader for photos, look for SD and TF slots as named on several titles. More ports are not automatically better; pick the mix you will actually plug in.

Know where budget docks cut corners

Cheaper docks often split bandwidth between displays, drop to lower refresh rates at 4K, or run warm under load. A listing that names 4K@60Hz is clearer than one that says only 4K. Be wary of marketing totals like “14-in-1” that count slots most people never use. Brand support and firmware updates matter more for business setups than the raw port count.

The 8 Best Options

Anker 8-in-1 Dual Monitor Dock

This dock lists dual HDMI outputs with 4K, a 1Gbps Ethernet port, 85W maximum power delivery, and an SD/TF card reader. It suits laptop users who want a two-monitor desk without paying for extras they will not use, such as a student or remote worker with a mainstream thin-and-light laptop. The card reader helps photographers and hobbyists who move files from cameras, and the Ethernet port gives a steadier connection than Wi-Fi for video calls. Based on the listed specs, it is a straightforward all-rounder rather than a specialist.

  • Strength: dual HDMI outputs cover the most common two-monitor desk.
  • Strength: 85W power delivery handles typical ultrabook chargers.
  • Trade-off: no DisplayPort output is named for a third display.

Skip it if you need three displays or very high charging wattage.

Dell Pro Dock WD25

A universal dock from a laptop maker with USB-C, 100W power, DisplayPort and HDMI outputs, Ethernet, USB-A and USB-C ports, and power delivery charging. It is built for office environments that want predictable behavior with business laptops and a vendor name behind the hardware. Offices that standardize on one model benefit because replacing or adding a unit is simple, and the mix of USB-A and USB-C ports covers both older peripherals and newer ones without adapters. The title does not state a total port count, so confirm the layout against your own peripherals.

  • Strength: 100W charging and mixed DisplayPort and HDMI outputs.
  • Strength: described as universal, so it is not limited to one laptop brand.
  • Trade-off: the title lists fewer ports than the larger Anker and MOKiN models.

Skip it if you want the most ports for the least spend.

Anker Nano 13-in-1

A docking station with a detachable 6-in-1 USB-C hub, support for three displays through two HDMI and one DisplayPort, 10Gbps USB-C, three USB-A ports, audio, and an SD/TF reader. The detachable hub is the twist: you can take the smaller piece on the road and leave the dock at the desk. That design appeals to hybrid workers who split the week between an office and home, since one purchase then covers two locations. Three displays is the headline, but remember that your laptop must support that many outputs for it to be useful.

  • Strength: detachable hub makes it flexible between home and travel.
  • Strength: three-display output with a 10Gbps USB-C port.
  • Trade-off: more complex than a single-piece dock for simple setups.

Skip it if you only need one cable and two monitors.

Anker Prime 14-in-1

A 14-in-1 dock with dual 4K HDMI, a 160W maximum output, 10Gbps data transfer, and a Smart Interface, along with audio. The headline is power: it is the only listing here that names 160W, which matters for high-wattage laptops that need a charger-class supply. Dual 4K output and 10Gbps data round out the profile, so it suits a heavy desk with fast drives attached. The Smart Interface wording is vague in the title, so read the specification page to see what it actually refers to.

  • Strength: 160W maximum output suits power-hungry laptops.
  • Strength: dual 4K HDMI plus 10Gbps data.
  • Trade-off: it is the premium-tier option of the Anker group.

Skip it if your laptop charges at 65W or less and you do not need the extra headroom.

Anker 13-in-1 Triple Display

This 13-in-1 USB-C dock lists triple-display support with two HDMI and one DisplayPort, 10Gbps USB-C and 5Gbps USB-A data ports, Ethernet, and audio. It fits buyers who want three screens and fast external storage at a mid-range tier. It is a natural fit for developers, analysts, and traders who like a wide spread of windows across three panels and still want audio and wired networking on the same cable. Because wattage is not in the title, match it to your charger manually.

  • Strength: three displays and a 10Gbps USB-C port.
  • Strength: both Ethernet and audio connections are included.
  • Trade-off: the title does not state a charging wattage.

Skip it if you need to know the exact power delivery figure before buying.

Acer 13-in-1 Docking Station

A three-display dock with two HDMI and one DisplayPort, 100W laptop charging, 5Gbps USB-A and USB-C, and 1Gbps LAN. The title adds that it requires a full-featured USB-C port. It suits buyers who want 100W charging with three displays from a recognized computer brand. The compatibility note is useful, because many buyers discover too late that a basic USB-C port cannot carry video. If your laptop has Thunderbolt or a clearly labeled DisplayPort-capable USB-C port, this is a comfortable fit for a multi-monitor desk.

  • Strength: 100W charging alongside three-display output.
  • Strength: honest compatibility note about the USB-C port.
  • Trade-off: 5Gbps data ports are slower than the 10Gbps options.

Skip it if you need fast external SSD speeds.

MOKiN 14-in-1

A dock with two HDMI and two DisplayPort outputs, described as triple 4K, with 87W power delivery, Ethernet, and an SD/TF card reader. It is marketed for Dell, HP, and Mac laptops, which suits a mixed-device household or office. The four video connectors give more flexibility in how you wire a desk, for example pairing monitors that use different inputs. Mac laptops often have limits on extra displays, so check that part of your own laptop’s specification before counting on all the outputs.

  • Strength: the most video outputs in this group.
  • Strength: compatible-brand wording covers several laptop makers.
  • Trade-off: a lesser-known brand, so check support and firmware information.

Skip it if brand support is a priority.

Acer 9-in-1 USB-C Dock

A dual-monitor dock with two HDMI outputs, 4K@60Hz on HDMI, USB-A and USB-C 3.0 ports, SD and Micro SD slots, and 100W power delivery. It is for a smaller desk where you want clear specs and fewer ports. The stated 4K@60Hz figure is the kind of detail that makes shopping easier, and the Micro SD slot covers common memory cards. It is a reasonable choice for a home office or a small shared desk where two screens and a single cable are plenty.

  • Strength: 4K@60Hz is stated plainly in the title.
  • Strength: 100W power delivery in a smaller dock.
  • Trade-off: two displays, not three.

Skip it if you plan to add a third monitor later.

Which One Fits Your Situation

You have a high-power gaming or workstation laptop

The Anker Prime 14-in-1 is the only listing naming 160W, so it is the safest bet for laptops that draw more than a standard ultrabook charger.

You want three monitors

The Acer 13-in-1 or the Anker 13-in-1 Triple Display both drive three screens; the Acer adds a stated 100W charging figure, while the Anker adds a 10Gbps USB-C port.

You share the dock between office and home

The Anker Nano 13-in-1 with its detachable hub lets you carry a smaller piece when you leave.

You run a business fleet or mixed laptops

The Dell Pro Dock WD25 describes itself as universal and comes from a laptop maker, which simplifies purchasing and support.

Common Mistakes

  • Buying a triple-display dock for a laptop that supports only one or two external monitors.
  • Choosing by port count instead of by display outputs and power delivery.
  • Ignoring the wattage of the laptop’s original charger.
  • Using a USB-C port that does not support video output.
  • Assuming every 4K output runs at 60Hz.

Related guides

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the difference between a dock and a hub?

A dock usually includes more video outputs, Ethernet, and higher power delivery, and is meant to stay on a desk. A hub is smaller and often focuses on a few ports for travel.

Can one dock drive two 4K monitors at 60Hz?

Some can, but it depends on the dock and the laptop’s graphics. Look for 4K@60Hz in the listing and confirm your laptop’s port supports it.

How much power delivery do I need?

Match your laptop’s original charger. A 65W laptop works on any of these, while higher-wattage machines should look at 100W or above.

Will these docks work with a MacBook?

Several listings mention Mac compatibility. Mac laptops may have limits on external displays, so check the laptop’s specifications for the maximum number of monitors.

L
Liam Bennett
We compare specs, materials and verified owner reviews before a product earns a spot. Rankings are never paid.

FAQ

What is the difference between a dock and a hub?
A dock usually includes more video outputs, Ethernet, and higher power delivery, and is meant to stay on a desk. A hub is smaller and often focuses on a few ports for travel.
Can one dock drive two 4K monitors at 60Hz?
Some can, but it depends on the dock and the laptop’s graphics. Look for 4K@60Hz in the listing and confirm your laptop’s port supports it.
How much power delivery do I need?
Match your laptop’s original charger. A 65W laptop works on any of these, while higher-wattage machines should look at 100W or above.
Will these docks work with a MacBook?
Several listings mention Mac compatibility. Mac laptops may have limits on external displays, so check the laptop’s specifications for the maximum number of monitors.
Affiliate disclosure. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Prices accurate as of the date shown.
8 Best Laptop Docking Stations (October 2026)Check price on Amazon